“They Left It All On The Field” -Gene Chizik, Referring to Keep Gene Chizik Movement

“They left it all on the field”, former Auburn Head Coach Gene Chizik said referring to the Keep Gene Chizik movement that swept through Crimson Tide Nation this season.

Reports out of Chizik’s camp said the coaches spirits were lifted by an unlikely advocate, Nick Saban.  From the infamous text exchange between the two coaches to the Facebook rally for support, Saban was at the front of the movement.  It didn’t take long for Crimson Tide Nation to follow suit.

It started with rumblings on twitter, #KeepGeneChizik began to pop up on cell phones across the great state of Alabama.  Soon poetry readings in his honor were taking place at local hipster hangouts.  Next thing you know the #KeepGeneChizik movement was in full swing and Chizik took notice.  He released this statement addressing the Keep Gene Chizik Nation,who stood by him in his time of need.

I am very grateful for the opportunity that I had during the last four
seasons to serve as the head football coach at Auburn University.  I’m
extremely disappointed with the way this season turned out.  I apologize to the Auburn family and our team for what they have had to endure.

There is one fan base and an individual in particular who I would like to recognized for going above and beyond the call of duty this year.  In my 27 years of coaching, I have never seen a display of support like I received from Nick Saban and the Alabama Crimson Tide faithful.  When moral was at an all time low it was the Tide faithful that lifted my spirits.

I feel blessed to have been surrounded with so many great coaches, but what Nick did for me, I can’t even begin to express my gratitude.  He reached out to me on the Facebook along with other coaches from the SEC.  I can remember one night, I’m sure it was after a bad loss to somebody like Vanderbilt, I was really depressed, out of the blue I got a text from Nick telling me to keep my head up.  That’s the type of thing that the fans and media don’t see.  Through this entire season Saban was the one who, surprisingly, was there for me most.  I think of him like that little angle on my shoulder helping me get through tough times.  Nick said recently he would miss me not being able to continue to mentor these players on a daily basis.  I told him not to worry and that I was confident these young men would continue to excel both on and off the field.

I have said this many times, but I think Nick Saban is the best coach in college football.  He has shown an incredible passion, love for myself, and the Auburn program.  I want to thank him for his support in bad times.  War Eagle!

#KeepGeneChizik Nation

Leave a Reply

